News

    Flat Earth – Fareed Haque on tour

    177

    Heading West, the guitar virtuoso will be visiting haunts both old and new.

    Voted Best World Guitarist by the readers of Guitar Magazine in 2009 was neither the start or the end of an incredibly varied career for the Chicago guitarist. It is difficult to think of a player whose experience is more varied than Haque, who has played (and still does) with jam band legends Garaj Mahal, appears on the first solo album with Sting, with B3 masters Tony Monaco and Joey DeFrancesco, is the current lead guitar player touring the world with Billy Cobham, has been mentored and played with Zakir Hussain, plays with symphonies, jazz combos, solo classical guitar, and even has a duo with Goran Ivanovic playing eastern European classical and jazz.

    Haque has recently mostly retired from his professor position at Northern Illinois University in Dekalb and is spending time with his ever growing family and touring the world. The current tour dates will be with his Indian dance band Flat Earth- which blends east Indian music with American jazz and funk, blurring the lines between East and West, and showing us the similarities and differences between these disparate, yet related musical styles.

    The touring ensemble on this run will be:

    Fareed Haque, Guitars; Kevin Kozol, Keys; Alex Austin, Bass; Rob Dicke, Drums and Electronics; Jose Piedra, Percussion

    Even the list of tour dates illustrates the great diversity of Haque’s music and his target: from jazz clubs to rock clubs to schools.

    From the video channel of Ankur Malhotra

    Fri 05.03.19 North St Cabaret w/Tony Monaco Madison WI
    Sat 05.04.19 Dazzle w/Flat Earth Denver CO
    Sun 05.05.19 Steve’s Guitars w/Flat Earth Carbondale CO
    Mon 05.06.19 Gracie’s w/Flat Earth Salt Lake City UT
    Wed 05.08.19 Nectar’s w/Flat Earth with McTuff Seattle WA
    Thu 05.09.19 Clackamas Community College w/Flat Earth Oregon City OR
    Thu 05.09.19 Wildcraft Ciderworks w/Flat Earth Eugene OR
    Fri 05.10.19 Rhythm and Rye w/Flat Earth Olympia WA
    Sat 05.11.19 Jack Londond Revue w/Flat Earth Portland OR
    Sun 05.12.19 The Emerald of Siam w/Flat Earth Richland WA
    Mon 05.13.19 Neah-Kah-Nie High School (for students only)
    Mon 05.13.19 White Clover Grange Hall w/Flat Earth Nehalem OR
    Wed 05.15.19 Moe’s Alley w/Flat Earth Santa Cruz CA
    Thu 05.16.19 Boom Boom Room w/Flat Earth, plus special guests Orchestra Gold San Francisco CA
    Fri 05.17.19 Savanna Jazz w/Flat Earth San Carlos CA
    Sat 05.18.19 Savanna Jazz w/Flat Earth San Carlos CA

    Mon 06.24.19 Millennium Park music series w/Casseus Chicago IL
    Thu 06.27.19 Levitt AMP Springfield w/ Flat Earth Springfield IL
    Sat 06.29.19 Founder’s Brewing Company w/Flat Earth Grand Rapids MI

    To submit a story or to just say hello, email us at lmnandr@gmail.com

    Check out the Live Music News and Review.com Facebook page for updates and announcements.