Asheville Civic Center Asheville, North Carolina 12/10/2022 by Willa Stein

Warren Haynes Christmas Jam, benefiting the Asheville Area Habitat For Humanity, on Saturday, December 10th filled Harrah’s Cherokee Center in Asheville, NC with amazing music and holiday cheer.

Warren Haynes Presents: Christmas Jam officially returned following a three-year hiatus. The annual holiday event, also presented by the W&S Charitable Foundation and Stefani Scamardo, will once again descend upon Haynes’ hometown for a special evening to benefit the Asheville Area Habitat for Humanity along with BeLoved Asheville The lineup included Phil Lesh & Friends (feat. Warren Haynes, John Scofield, John Medeski & John Molo), Tyler Childers, Gov’t Mule, Brothers Osborne, Dinosaur Jr., and many special guests.

“I’m excited to finally bring back Christmas Jam and continue the tradition we’ve been building for over 30 years,” shared Haynes when the show was announced. “It feels like the perfect time to return to celebrating this wonderful cause (and life in general) and to be helping the community in my beloved home of Asheville. Christmas Jam is always such a special event for me and my family and this year’s lineup is one that is dear to my heart as it brings back some old friends as well as introducing news ones into the fold. Looking forward to being together for an amazing night of music and holiday cheer.”

“W&S Foundation is particularly excited to bring the Christmas Jam back to Asheville this year with such an amazing and exciting lineup,” added Scamardo. “We are very proud of the work we’ve done in Asheville with Habitat for Humanity over the past two-plus decades and are thrilled to add a new local non-profit partner with BeLoved Asheville to further the mission of providing housing for those in need. There’s still work to be done for the community and we’re honored to play a part in that. The long-awaited return of Christmas Jam is sure to be a special moment for all.”

Scott Metzger 

01 Greeting From Scott 

02 1952 Vincent Black Lightning 

03 *Instrumental 

04 *#When I Win The Lottery 

* With Simon Kafka On Acoustic Guitar 

# With Katie Jacoby On Violin 

Dinosaur Jr. 

01. Warren Haynes Intro 

02. The Lung 

03. Garden 

04. Been There All The Time 

05. Get Me 

06. Start Choppin’ 

J Mascis – Guitar, Bass & Vocals 

Lou Barlow – Bass, Guitar & Vocals 

Murph – Drums 

Dinosaur Jr. May seem out of place in this line-up, but J Mascis and crew delivered a strong 5-song set that the ever-thickening crowd responded well to. 

Hiss Golden Messenger 

01 Biloxi
02 Jenny Of The Roses
03 Sanctuary
04 My Wing

A welcomed, short, solo set from MC Taylor. 

Brothers Osborne 

01 Greeting And Introduction By Warren Haynes 

02 Skeletons > 

03 Headstones > 

04 Shoot Me Straight 

05 I’m Not For Everyone 

06 Weed, Whiskey, Willie 

07 Dead Man’s Curve 

08 Stay A Little Longer 

09 It Ain’t My Fault 

T.J. Osborne – lead vocals, rhythm guitar 

John Osborne – lead guitar, backing vocals 

Brothers Osborne cranked things up and played a rollicking, rockin’ set that showcased John’s lead guitar playing, and the bands jamming prowess. 

Brothers Osborne Mini Set 

Side Stage 

01 Greeting 

02 Whiskey River 

03 *The Shape I’m In 

04 *#Melissa 

* With Audley Freed On Guitar 

# With Warren Haynes On Guitar And Vocals 

Gov’t Mule 

01 Mule 

02 Temporary Saint 

03 *Banks Of The Deep End 

04 *#Sometimes Salvation 

05 *#Ain’t No Love In The Heart Of The City 

06 *@^+Sailin’ Shoes 

07 *@^+Hey Pockey Way 

08 *$%!Almost Cut My Hair 

09 *!~Blue Sky 

* With Rob Baracco On Keyboards And Vocals 

# With Audley Freed On Guitar 

@ With George Porter Jr. On Bass And Vocals 

^ With Mike Barnes On Guitar 

+ With Jeff Sipe On Drums 

$ With Scott Metzger On Guitar 

% With Katie Jacoby ( On Violin 

! With Robert Kearns On Bass 

~ With John Osborne On Guitar And Vocals 

Warren Haynes – Guitar And Vocals 

Jorgen Carlsson – Bass 

Matt Abts – Drums 

Audley Freed joined Mule for “Sometimes Salvation” harking back to his days with The Black Crowes, with Warren Haynes delivering a great vocal. 

Scott Metzger 

Side Stage

Metzger did a killer, spirited solo version of the Dylan classic “Tell Me, Momma” from the ’66 tour with The Band when he went electric, and was then joined by Simon Kafka and Katie Jacoby for two more songs, including an eclectic take on the Black Sabbath classic “The Wizard.”

Scott Metzger Trio
Side Stage

01 Tell Me, Momma
02 The Wizard
03 Stash

Tyler Childers 

01. Country Squire 

02. Band Introduction 

03. Tom Turkey 

04. Honky Tonk Flame 

05. Tulsa Turnaround 

06. House Fire 

07. Univeral Sound 

08. Way Of The Triune God 

09. Heart You’ve Been Tendin’ 

10. Rustin’ In The Rain 

11. Trudy * 

12. Lady May 

* w/ Warren Haynes 

Tyler and The Food Stamps tore it up Saturday night as usual, including a version of the rare Dylan-started, Charley Crockett-finished outtake from Pat Garrett & Billy the Kid, “Tom Turkey.”

Tyler Ramsey, who is the former lead guitarist for Band of Horses performed on the Side Stage, a set that featured his skills as a singer songwriter.

01 Black Birds
02 A Dream Of Home
03 *And I'll Feel That Way Again

* With Audley Freed On Guitar

Phil Lesh & Friends 

01. Tuning Jam 

02. In The Midnight Hour > 

03. Masons Children 

04. Brown-Eyed Women 

05. Shakedown Street > 

06. I Am The Walrus 

07. Morning Dew 

08. Eyes Of The World 

09. So What 

10. Help On The Way > 

11. Slipknot > 

12. Terrapin Station 

13. Box Of Rain 

14. Phil Thanks & Band Intros 

Phil Lesh – Bass & Vocals 

Warren Haynes – Guitar & Vocals 

John Scofield – Guitar 

Rob Baracco – Keyboards & Vocals 

John Molo – Drums And Vocals 

To submit an article an article or review, or to just say hello hit us at [email protected]

Also- check out the search feature in the upper right hand corner and search for your favorite artist, event, venue or genre. You’ll be surprised at what you find!

Check out the Live Music News and Facebook page for updates and announcements.