Kat Von D performing live at the Belasco in the city of Los Angeles, Ca on 09-30-2021

Kat Von D performed at the Belasco in Los Angeles CA on September 30, 2021

Review by Harriet Kaplan Photos by Ricardo Curiel

Musician, entrepreneur and tattoo artist Kat Von D and her band are currently on a limited tour in support her debut album, “Love Made Me Do It” that comes across in the spirt of the new wave and early industrial music of the late 70s and 80s.

The band consisted of Gregg Foreman AKA Mr. Pharmacist (synth 1), Sammi Doll (synth 2), Dave Parley (drums), and Brynn Route (contortionist) all of whom make up the supporting group for Kat Von D. Their playing enhances the moody yet bright, dark wave synth pop, sonic landscape that also contains a hypnotic and ethereal sound.

Kat Von D is a good singer continuing to hone and refine her chops. Von D has studied piano and received classical training which influences the legitimacy of the Gothic sound. Seminal influences for the band clearly include Depeche Mode, Gary Numan and The Cure and all of those influences are infused with a punk rock sensibility that has decidedly the Gothic undertones. The album features a multitude of collaborators including: David Grohl, Linda Perry, Dave Sitek, Peter Murphy, Danny Lohner, Ladyhawke and Charo.

The moving lyrics of the selections speak to those who are brokenhearted and have experienced heartbreaks to undying devotion of love until death. The show was really a journey into the artist’s soul. The arrangements are also very catchy despite the darkness of the mood and the show.

“Exorcism,” “Vanish,” “Fear You,” “Enough,” “Lost at Sea,” “Fear You,” and “Pretending” were among the standout tracks. The dramatic and theatrical show had strong, modern high-end production values which  included videos projecting images of the band members and associated other imagery and striking multi-color lighting at Belasco Theater in Downtown Los Angeles. The practically sold-out show brought out the inner creativity of audience. They mirrored the stylish edge and vibe of the band.

The fans added their own twist in looks and clothing bringing out another dimension to the entire atmosphere of the concert. It was more than a show with the diverse crowd expressing their own sense of self also exploring and taking on other identities and alter egos to match and merge with the music. 

Kat Von D has her own vision and executed it well and was able to truly connect emotionally to the throng of fans that make up her audience. Her songs resonate strongly because they are universal. Whether you are a fan of dark wave, synth pop, post-punk or goth, one has to admire Kat Von D and the courage of her convictions to bear herself so nakedly and vulnerably through her music.

Love Made Me Do It track listing:

1. Intro

2. Vanish

3. Enough

4. Exorcism

5. Protected (Feat. Peter Murphy)

6. Fear You

7. I Am Nothing

8. Lost At Sea

9. Interlude

10. Pretending

11. Easier Sung Than Said

12. The Calling (Feat. Robert Harvey and Vampira)

Check out the Live Music News and Review.com Facebook page for updates and announcements.

To submit an article an article or review, or to just say hello hit us at [email protected]

Also- check out the search feature in the upper right hand corner and search for your favorite artist, event, venue or genre. You’ll be surprised at what you find!