The Drunken Hearts New Album and Tour Dates


    The Drunken Hearts Released Wheels of the City on LoHi Records October 18 2019

    The Drunken Hearts released Wheels of the City October 18 on LoHi Records. Produced by Tim Carbone (Railroad Earth), the album was recorded at Silo Sound Studios in Denver, Colorado, and mastered by Jim Wilson. On Wheels of the City, The Drunken Hearts deliver tales of adventure, love, risk, and realization.

    Mixing their mountain-spirit with the twang of the south, this electrifying five-man band met and live in the Denver/Boulder area of Colorado. Acoustic guitarist and powerhouse lead singer, Andrew McConathy is originally from Shreveport, Louisiana, and is known for his compelling songwriting and distinct and expressive vocals. Joining him are pedal steel, dobro, and lap steel player Cody Russell and electric guitarist and vocalist Kory Montgomery, both from Arkansas, along with bassist Jon McCartan, from Upstate New York by way of Vermont, and, from the outskirts of Chicago, drummer Alex Johnson.

    The band wanted to try something new for this album: to create and record a new song each day, and continue that model until an entire album was realized. The result is eleven full-fledged, living, breathing, musical time capsules that make up Wheels of the City.

    “I loved working on this record with The Drunken Hearts,” exclaims Tim Carbone, a partner in LoHi Records. “We did a song a day and except for some vocal overdubs, solo replacements and the strings and horns, that was how it all went down. I’d never worked that way before. It was an amazing stretch of hyper-creativity. I’m very proud of Wheels of the City!” 

    With notable performances at Winter WonderGrass Steamboat (CO), Winter WonderGrass Squaw Valley (CA), Mumford & Sons Gentlemen of the Road Fest (CO), Electric Forest (MI), FloydFest (VA), Vertex (CO), Fayetteville Roots Fest (AR), Hangtown Music Festival (CA), Bohemian Nights at New West Fest (CO), Northwest String Summit (OR), Grandoozy (CO), Four Peaks Festival (OR), and the band’s very own Yarmony Music Festival (CO), the band is very much at home on the festival circuit. They have also supported Lukas Nelson & Promise of the Real, Greensky Bluegrass, Railroad Earth, Deer Tick, Leftover Salmon, String Cheese Incident, among others.

    The band is touring the country from coast-to-coast, with stops at famed venues and festivals along the way and is set to perform a slew of shows with Yonder Mountain String Band during this album release cycle.

    The Drunken Hearts Wheels of the City Tour Dates
    10/18 Fri – Norfolk, CT – Infinity Music Hall and Bistro*
    10/19 Sat – Saratoga Springs, NY – Putnam Place*
    10/30 Wed – Bend, OR – Volcanic Theatre Pub
    10/31 Thu – Coos Bay, OR – 7 Devils Brewing Co.
    11/01 Fri – Salem, OR – Governor’s Cup
    11/02 Sat – Portland, OR – Private Party
    11/13 Wed – Baltimore, MD – The 8×10*
    11/14 Thu – Brooklyn, NY – Brooklyn Bowl*
    11/15 Fri – Ardmore, PA – The Ardmore Music Hall*
    11/16 Sat – Boulder, CO – The Fox Theatre
    11/17 Sun – Woodstock, NY – Levon Helm Studios*
    11/19 Tue – Greenfield, MA – Hawks & Reed PAC*
    11/21 Thu – Portland, ME – Port City Music Hall*
    11/22 Fri – Pawtucket, RI – The Met*
    11/23 Sat – Boston, MA – Brighton Music Hall* 
    11/24 Sun – York, PA – The Capitol Theatre*

    * supporting Yonder Mountain String Band

    Wheels of the City Track Listing and Credits

    01. Fire in a House 4:02
    02. Shining Eyes 3:24
    03. Alive ‘n Free 3:47
    04. Run It All Together 3:09
    05. Unrest 3:42
    06. Wheels of the City 4:13
    07. Passchendaele 4:52
    08. Two Hearts (On a Limb) 3:15
    09. In the Middle 3:19
    10. Dream of Waiting 4:42
    11. The Cave 3:38

    The Drunken Hearts
    Andrew McConathy – Acoustic & Electric Guitar, Vocals
    Cody Russell – Pedal Steel, Lap Steel, Dobro
    Jon McCartan – Electric Bass
    Kory Montgomery – Electric & Acoustic Guitar, Vocals
    Alex Johnson – Drums, Percussion

    Special Guests
    Tim Carbone – Piano (tracks 1, 3, 5), Organ (3), Violin (3), Backing Vocals (7), Spoken Word (11), Percussion (1)

    Sheryl Renee – Backing Vocals (tracks 7, 9)

    Horn Section (track 6)
    Sam Hoyt – Trumpet
    Sam Burris – Trombone
    John Devivo – French Horn 
    Jay Rattman – Alto Sax, Flute, Clarinet, and Arrangement